Introducing…

As I’ve been packing up my thing these past few weeks and moving them, I’ve been thinking about how I want my furniture arranged in my new residence and what I want to put on each shelf and each drawer. As I’ve been packing and moving and unpacking, I’ve been thinking about the future of this blog, as well. As I carefully stowed my blog materials into a box labeled “Archive”, I thought about each thing that was in there and what kind of post it might eventually turn into. I was thinking about what was working for the blog and what could make it better. I challenged myself to think about the blog’s vision and my vision for the blog and to rethink both of them again. And again. And again.

So today, I’m excited to unveil a new category for The Northwest Past.

For the past almost year-and-a-half, I’ve blogged from two big categories: image-based and item-based. Image-based are mostly the postcards that make up the bulk of this blog, and the items (or artifacts, as I like to call them) are the pins, records, spoons, and everything else that isn’t flat and does not go on my scanner.

And today I’m happy to announce that the new category of locations!

We are surrounded by locations–buildings, clocks, parks–that have just as many stories to tell as the souvenir from the 1962 World’s Fair or the postcard showing us that there did used to be a snow tunnel on I-90.

And maybe, if you’re in the area, you might find that you’d like to visit one of these historic locations yourself. Please do! What better way to explore history than visiting it?

As always, thanks for reading, and standby for the first location post… Coming very soon.

Leave a Reply

