Welcome Back & Special Announcement

Well hello there! I am a little in disbelief that it has been over a year since the last post here on the Northwest Past.

An entire year!

With the way things have been in the last two-plus years, I guess I can’t be too surprised that things might get a bit different here as well. But a whole year!

Putting my disbelief aside, I want to 1) welcome you [back] and 2) make an exciting announcement.

If you live in Washington, you may already know that 60 years ago today, April 21, 1962, was opening day of the Seattle World’s Fair. This event brought the world to Seattle, put the city on the map, and introduced nearly 10 million people to the future. It gave Seattle the Space Needle, Monorail, and Pacific Science Center. It even inspired an Elvis movie! But something else the ’62 World’s Fair famously did was feature cuisines from around the world and introduce America to the Belgian waffle.

I am excited to announce that for the next 26 weeks–the duration of the fair–we will examine some of the foods that were featured at the fair. Some weeks there will be recipes, and other weeks there will be product spotlights, featuring the brands and products sold at the fair than can still be purchased today.

This is a series I have dreamed of premiering for several years. I hope that you will follow along, and maybe add a bit of 1962 flair to your own menus this year.

Were you at the fair 60 years ago? Leave your favorite memories in the comments!

Welcome back, and I’ll see you next week with the first installment of Food Fair!

One thought on “Welcome Back & Special Announcement

Leave a comment